Florida fire equipment dealers (license holders) and technicians (permittees) are required by State law through Florida Statutes Chapter 633 and Florida Administrative Code Rule 69A-21 to complete 32 hours of continuing education every 4 years. Florida Statutes Chapter 633 Section 633.061 references the continuing education requirements. Download the current law Florida Statutes Chapter 633 at http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm
Florida Administrative Rule 69A-21, section 69A-21.113, clarifies the specifications of the required continuing education. Per this section, license holders and permittees are required to take state-approved continuing education courses related to the scope of each license and each permit held.
The Rule requires all license holders complete at least a one hour business practices class, and a one hour workers' compensation class as part of the required continuing education for license renewal each two year period.
The Rule also requires that all permit holder complete at least a one hour business practices class, and a one hour workplace safety class as part of the required continuing education for license renewal each two year period.
These special hours are in conjunction with the 16 hours requirement and not in addition to. Per the State Fire Marshal's Office, permittees may also sit in on these three classes and receive credit towards their continuing education.
To download a copy of the current Florida Administrative Rule 69A-21, section 69A-21.113, go to https://www.flrules.org.
The Florida State Fire Marshal's Office includes information about continuing education on its website located at: www.fldfs.com/sfm/bfpr/reg_lic_licenses.htm
Other items included on this section of their website include license descriptions, license classes, application forms and general requirements.
FFEDA holds over 24 hours of state-approved continuing education each year throughout the State of Florida. Check out the events page for the current calendar.